Omaha Poker

The players

In one round of Omaha Poker, a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 10 players play together. The game proceeds clockwise. A dealer deals the cards and, at the end of the game, reviews the players’ poker hands to determine a winner. In an online poker game, however, the dealer is only a virtual card dealer and in private poker rounds the dealer usually plays the game himself. In the first poker round, the dealer is determined. He is given the dealer button, a small game disc that often has a capital D printed on it. The dealer button moves clockwise to the next player in each new game round.

The play money

It serves as a substitute for money in poker. Game chips are of vital importance in the game of poker. In the real game they are called chips or tokens, their different value being determined by different colours. The chips used in casinos usually have precisely defined combinations of values and colours. In the online poker game they are called chips or game chips and are only displayed in colour, whereas the individual chip values are not shown. Game chips are used to pay the stakes in poker. At the beginning of a poker game, all participating players start with the same amount of chips, which is also called buy-in.

The insert

At the beginning of each game round, each player must place a certain amount of chips in the middle of the poker table to be able to play in that game round. In poker jargon, this is called the picture. The blind is set once before the game starts and does not change until the end of the entire poker game. In the game of poker there is a big blind and a small blind. They are called the Big Blind and Small Blind and are displayed on the game table as so-called Blind Buttons, also small discs. The first player to the left of the dealer gets the small blind button, the next player gets the big blind button. A small blind is always half the value of a big blind. The blinds are to be seen as forced bets. They are what get the poker game going in the first place.

Game description

Each round of Omaha poker is divided into five game sections. They are called Pre-Flop, Flop, Turn, River and Showdown. In four of these stages, playing cards are dealt and promotions can be made. In the final stage of the game, there is only betting and then the winner is determined.

In Omaha poker, each player is dealt four cards face down in the first stage of the game, the pre-flop. The player does not show them to other players under any circumstances. In Omaha poker, each player’s poker hands are formed in the next three stages of the game with a total of five additional community cards. A set number of community cards are placed face up in the middle of the poker table. At the end of the Omaha poker game, players have a total of nine playing cards at their disposal. From these they can form their best possible poker hand.

The special feature of Omaha poker is that the five playing cards of a poker hand are formed from two of your own cards and three of the community cards. In Omaha Hi, the best poker hand wins. There is also the Omaha Hi-Lo variant.

In the individual Omaha poker rounds, the different playing actions of the players influence the stages of the game and the course of the game.

The player whose turn it is to act in each game section must perform a game action. Players may bid, call, raise, fold, fold or simply continue to play in any section of the game without having performed any of the above actions.

Die genannten Spielaktionen sind:

Check

A player can “check” if no chips have been placed in the game round, in addition to the mandatory blinds. Check means that a player does not bet any chips and passes the game on to the next player.

Bet

Bidding is open to anyone whose turn it is in a game round. The minimum bid is always the value of the big blind.

Fold

A player withdraws from the current game round. He can do so in any of the game sections. If he does not want to check, bed, raise or call, he can only “fold”. The player then returns his playing cards face down to the dealer.

Call

If a player has already bid or raised in a round, subsequent players can call the bet they have placed – they then “call”. A call means that the bet of the other player is equal to the bet. The player can then continue to play in that round.

Raise

Any player may raise the previously placed bet when it is his turn to act. This is called a raise. A raise must be at least as high as the previous raise.

The game segments:

When dealing cards on the Flop, Turn and River, the dealer always places the top card of the deck face down first, and only then places the cards face up in the center of the poker table. The playing cards put away are called Burn Cards in the Poker game.

In online poker, this does not exist, as online players do not have the opportunity to see the virtual dealer’s cards. At the poker table, in a real poker game, the purpose of the burn cards is to prevent a player from gaining any kind of game advantage by seeing the next community card before it has been revealed by the dealer in the middle of the table.

Pre-Flop – now the game starts

First, the big and small blinds must be posted by the two players sitting next to the dealer. Then the dealer deals the first four playing cards to the players, face down in a clockwise direction. The player to the left of the dealer is dealt the first card and the last of the four hole cards is dealt to the dealer.

Flop - the first game actions

The player who is seated immediately after the big blind now opens the poker game. This position is often called “under the gun”. He is the first player to take a decisive action. This player can call, raise or fold in the event of a bad poker hand. After that, it is the next player’s turn and he can either call a raise that has already been made, raise himself or, if the previous bidding seems too high to him, fold. Logically, the last player in the first round of betting, the player with the small blind, only has to call, i.e. only enough chips to match the big blind if the previous players either folded or called. If at any point in a game round the betting is raised, the players remaining in the game round must continue all possible actions in that round until everyone has finally bet the same amount. A raise must always be at least equalized (called) by the following players, or raised by a re-raise. When all remaining players have made the required bets, the entire sum of the bets made goes into the middle of the poker table and forms the pot. The dealer then deals three playing cards and places them face up in the middle of the poker table. This is called the Flop. The poker game then continues and the remaining players each form their best possible hand with the three playing cards. The exposed playing cards are called community cards.

Turn - the second game round

Now each remaining player can combine his own four cards face down with the community cards laid out on the flop. The goal is to create the best possible poker hand for the turn and the next part of the game, the river. However, a player may only use two of his own playing cards in the Omaha Poker game. Again, the first action begins with the first remaining player in the hand to the left of the dealer. The Check, Bet, Call, Raise or Fold actions can be played until all players remaining in the hand have made an equal bet. The accumulated bets from this round are placed back in the middle of the table and are therefore part of the pot. When this is done, the dealer places another card face up in the middle of the table. This is called the turn.

River - the last leg of an Omaha poker round

With only two of their own four face-down playing cards from the first leg of the game, plus the four community cards from the flop and the turn, each player now re-creates their best possible poker hand. Play action restarts with the first remaining player to the left of the dealer. This player can now only perform the Check or Bet or Fold play options. All subsequent players can play Check, Bet, Call, Raise or Fold, as in the other stages of the game, until all players remaining in that last round of play have made the same bet. Afterwards, this total bet is also returned to the center of the table and becomes part of the pot. If there are at least two players remaining in the game, the dealer will deal the last card of the round, and will place it face up in the middle of the table with the other four playing cards. This is called the river.

Showdown - now best players win

As before, in this very last game round, the game actions Bet, Call, Raise and Flop can be carried out. The players remaining in the game at the end of the game turn over their two cards with which they want to make up the poker hand. The dealer now determines which is the best poker hand, and thus the player who won the pot. If there is a tie where two players have an equal poker hand, the pot is split equally between the two players. But, in this round, the best poker hand does not necessarily have to win.

End of game - tactics can also win

In the Pre-Flop, Flop, Turn, River, the game can be brought to an end by just one player, i.e. won. This is the case when all other players have left the game. The winner then wins the pot accumulated up to that point.

In a raise, that is, when bidding, it is possible for players to go “all-in”. This means that they bet all the game chips they have left. If the other players are able to call this amount and no other game action is possible, the cards of all remaining players are dealt face down and then the remaining community cards from the remaining game rounds are dealt into the middle of the table. The best Poker hand wins.

In Omaha Hi, the pot is won by the player who has the best poker hand in the final stage of the game, the showdown.

Omaha Poker

Die Spieler

In einer Runde Omaha Poker spielen mindestens 2 und maximal 10 Spieler zusammen. Das Spiel verläuft im Uhrzeigersinn. Ein Dealer teilt die Karten aus und überschaut am Spielende die Poker Hände der Spieler, um einen Gewinner zu bestimmen. In einem Online Poker Spiel ist der Dealer jedoch nur ein virtueller Kartenausteiler und in privaten Pokerrunden spielt der Dealer meistens selbst mit. In der ersten Pokerrunde wird der Dealer bestimmt. Er bekommt den Dealer-Button, eine kleine Spielscheibe, auf der oft ein großes D aufgedruckt ist. Der Dealer-Button wechselt in jeder neuen Spielrunde im Uhrzeigersinn weiter zum nächsten Spieler.

Das Spielgeld

Es dient beim Poker als Ersatzgeld. Spielchips sind im Poker Spiel von entscheidender Bedeutung. Im reellen Spiel heißen sie Chips oder Jetons, wobei ihre unterschiedliche Wertigkeit durch verschiedene Farben festgelegt wird. Die in Kasinos verwendeten Jetons haben meistens genau definierte Werte- und Farbkombinationen. Beim Online Poker Spiel werden sie Chips oder auch Spielchips genannt und lediglich farblich dargestellt, wobei die einzelnen Chipwerte nicht angezeigt werden. Mit Spielchips werden die Einsätze beim Pokern bezahlt. Zu Beginn eines Pokerspiels legen alle teilnehmenden Spieler mit einem gleich hohen Wert an Chips los, was auch Buy-in genannt wird.

Der Einsatz

Am Anfang jeder Spielrunde muss jeder Spieler einen bestimmten Grundeinsatz an Chips in die Mitte des Pokertischs bezahlen, damit er überhaupt an dieser Spielrunde mitspielen kann. Im Poker Jargon wird von dem Bild gesprochen. Der Blind wird einmalig vor Spielbeginn festgelegt und verändert sich dann nicht mehr bis zum Ende des gesamten Pokerspiels. Beim Poker Spiel gibt es einen großen und einen kleinen Blind. Sie werden Big Blind und Small Blind genannt und werden auf dem Spieltisch als sogenannte Blind Buttons, ebenfalls kleine Scheiben, angezeigt. Der erste Spieler, der links vom Dealer sitzt, erhält den Small Blind Button, der nächste Spieler den Big Blind Button. Ein Small Blind hat immer den halben Wert eines Big Blinds. Die Blinds sind als Zwangseinsätze zu sehen. Sie bringen das Poker Spiel überhaupt erst in Gang.

Spielbeschreibung

Jede Pokerrunde im Omaha Poker teilt sich auf in fünf Spielabschnitte. Sie heißen Pre-Flop, Flop, Turn, River und Showdown. In vier dieser Spielabschnitte werden Spielkarten ausgeteilt und Spielaktionen können gemacht werden. Im letzten Spielabschnitt wird nur noch gesetzt und dann der Gewinner bestimmt.

Im Omaha Poker werden jedem Spieler im ersten Spielabschnitt einer Pokerrunde, dem Pre-Flop, vier Karten verdeckt ausgeteilt. Der Spieler zeigt sie auf keinen Fall seinen Mitspielern. Im Omaha Poker Spiel werden die Poker Hände der einzelnen Spieler in den nächsten drei Spielabschnitten gebildet mit insgesamt weiteren fünf Gemeinschaftskarten. Eine festgelegte Zahl an Gemeinschaftskarten wird aufgedeckt in die Mitte des Pokertischs gelegt. Am Ende des Omaha Pokerspiels stehen den Spielern insgesamt neun Spielkarten zur Verfügung. Daraus können sie ihr bestmöglichstes Poker Blatt, die Poker Hand, bilden.

Die Besonderheit beim Omaha Poker ist, dass sich die fünf Spielkarten einer Poker Hand aus zwei der eigenen und drei der Gemeinschaftskarten bilden. Beim Omaha Hi gewinnt die beste, also höchste Poker Hand. Es gibt auch noch die Variante Omaha Hi-Lo.

In den einzelnen Omaha Pokerrunden beeinflussen die unterschiedlichen Spielaktionen der Spieler die Spielabschnitte und den Spielablauf.

Der Spieler, der in einem Spielabschnitt jeweils an der Reihe ist zu handeln, muss eine Spielaktion durchführen. Spieler können in jedem Spielabschnitt bieten, mitbieten, erhöhen, aussteigen oder einfach weiterspielen, ohne eine der zuvor genannten Aktionen durchgeführt zu haben.

Die genannten Spielaktionen sind:

Check

Ein Spieler kann „checken“ wenn in der Spielrunde noch keine Chips gesetzt wurden, neben den obligatorischen Blinds. Check bedeutet, dass ein Spieler keine Chips setzt und das Spiel an den nachfolgenden Spieler weitergibt.

Bet

Bieten kann, wer in einer Spielrunde an der Reihe ist. Das Mindestgebot ist immer der Wert des Big Blinds.

Fold

Ein Spieler steigt aus der laufenden Spielrunde aus. Er kann das in jedem der Spielabschnitte tun. Wenn er weder Checken, Betten, Raisen oder Callen möchte, dann kann er nur noch „Folden“. Der Spieler gibt dann seine Spielkarten verdeckt an den Dealer zurück.

Call

Wenn ein Spieler in einer Spielrunde bereits geboten oder den Einsatz erhöht hat, können die nachfolgenden Spieler diesen von ihm gesetzten Einsatz mitgehen – sie „callen“ dann. Ein Call bedeutet, den Einsatz des Mitspielers in gleicher Höhe zu begleichen. Der Spieler kann dann weiterhin in dieser Spielrunde mitspielen.

Raise

Jeder Spieler kann den zuvor gesetzten Spieleinsatz erhöhen, wenn er an der Reihe ist. Das wird Raise genannt. Ein Raise muss mindestens so hoch sein wie die zuvor gespielte Erhöhung.

Die Spielabschnitte:

Beim Austeilen der Spielkarten im Flop, Turn und River, legt der Dealer immer zuerst die oberste Spielkarte des Kartenstapels verdeckt weg und dann erst legt er die jeweiligen Karten offen in die Mitte des Pokertisches. Die weggelegten Spielkarten werden im Poker Spiel Burn Cards genannt.

Beim Online Poker Spiel gibt es das nicht, da die Onlinespieler hier keine Möglichkeit haben, dem virtuellen Dealer in die Karten zu schauen. Am Pokertisch, bei einem echten Poker Spiel, sollen die Burn Cards verhindern, dass sich ein Spieler irgendeinen Spielvorteil verschafft, wenn er die nächste Gemeinschaftskarte sieht, bevor sie vom Dealer in der Tischmitte aufgedeckt wurde.

Pre-Flop – jetzt geht das Spiel los

Als erstes muss der Big und der Small Blind jeweils von den beiden Spielern gesetzt werden, die als nächstes vom Dealer sitzen. Danach teilt der Dealer die ersten vier Spielkarten an die Spieler aus, und zwar zugedeckt im Uhrzeigersinn. Derjenige, der links vom Dealer sitzt, bekommt die erste Karte ausgeteilt und die letzte aller vier sogenannten Hole Cards bekommt der Dealer selbst.

Flop – die ersten Spielaktionen

Derjenige Spieler eröffnet nun die Pokerrunde, der gleich nach dem Big Blind sitzt. Diese Position wird oft auch „under the gun“ genannt. Er ist der erste Spieler, der eine entscheidende Spielaktion durchführen kann. Dieser Spieler kann Callen, Raisen oder bei einem schlechten Poker Blatt Folden. Danach kommt der Nächste an die Reihe und er kann dann entweder einer bereits erfolgten Erhöhung mitgehen, selbst erhöhen oder, falls ihm das bisherige Bieten zu hoch erscheint, aussteigen. Logischerweise muss der letzte Spieler der ersten Bietrunde, also der Spieler mit dem Small Blind, nur Callen, also nur so viele Chips begleichen, dass er seinen Einsatz an den Big Blind angleichen kann, wenn die vorherigen Spieler entweder ausgestiegen oder mitgegangen sind. Wenn an irgendeinem Punkt in einer Spielrunde der Einsatz erhöht wird, müssen die in der Spielrunde verbleibenden Spieler erst alle möglichen Spielaktionen in dieser Runde weiterführen, bis letztendlich alle den gleichhohen Betrag gesetzt haben. Dabei muss ein Raise immer von den nachfolgenden Spielern mindestens ausgeglichen werden (call), oder durch einen sogenannten Re-Raise erhöht werden. Wenn alle verbleibenden Spieler den jeweils geforderten Einsatz erbracht haben, geht die ganze Summe der erfolgten Einsätze in die Mitte des Pokertisches und bildet den Pot. Dann teilt der Dealer drei Spielkarten aus, die er aufgedeckt in die Mitte des Pokertisches legt. Dies wird Flop genannt. Das Poker Spiel geht danach weiter und die verbleibenden Spieler bilden mit den drei Spielkarten jeweils ihre bestmögliche Spielhand. Die offen liegenden Spielkarten werden Gemeinschaftskarten genannt.

Turn – die zweite Spielrunde

Nun kann jeder verbleibende Spieler seine eigenen vier verdeckten Karten mit dem im Flop ausgelegten Gemeinschaftskarten kombinieren. Ziel ist es, damit das bestmögliche Poker Blatt für den Turn und den nächsten Spielabschnitt, dem River zusammenzustellen. Ein Spieler darf beim Omaha Poker Spiel aber allerdings nur zwei seiner eigenen Spielkarten verwenden. Wieder beginnt die erste Spielaktion mit dem ersten noch verbleibenden Spieler in diesem Spielabschnitt, der links vom Dealer sitzt. Die Spielaktionen Check, Bet, Call, Raise oder Fold können solange gespielt werden, bis alle Spieler, die in dieser Runde noch übrig sind, wieder einen gleich hohen Einsatz gezahlt haben. Die zusammengekommenen Einsätze dieser Runde werden wieder in die Tischmitte gelegt und sind damit Teil des Pots. Wenn das erledigt ist, legt der Dealer nochmals eine Karte offen in die Tischmitte. Das wird als Turn bezeichnet.

River – der letzte Abschnitt einer Omaha Pokerrunde

Mit nur zwei seiner eigenen vier verdeckten Spielkarten aus dem ersten Spielabschnitt sowie den vier Gemeinschaftskarten aus dem Flop und dem Turn stellt jetzt jeder Spieler wieder sein bestmögliches Poker Blatt zusammen. Die Spielaktionen beginnen wieder mit dem ersten im Spiel verbleibenden Spieler, der links vom Dealer sitzt. Dieser kann jetzt nur die Spieloptionen Check bzw. Bet oder Fold ausführen. Alle danach folgenden Spieler können Check, Bet, Call, Raise oder Fold spielen, wie schon in den anderen Spielabschnitten, und zwar wieder so lange, bis alle in dieser letzten Spielrunde noch verbleibenden Spieler wieder den gleich hohen Einsatz gezahlt haben. Anschließend wird auch dieser Gesamteinsatz wieder in die Tischmitte gelegt und zum Teil des Pots. Wenn jetzt noch mindestens zwei Spieler am Spiel teilnehmen, teilt der Dealer die letzte Karte dieser Runde aus, und legt sie ebenfalls wieder offen zu den anderen vier Spielkarten in der Tischmitte. Das wird als der River bezeichnet.

Showdown – jetzt gewinnt beste Spieler

Wie zuvor können in dieser allerletzten Spielrunde wieder die Spielaktionen Bet, Call, Raise und Flop durchgeführt werden. Die am Ende im Spiel verbliebenen Spieler decken ihre beiden Karten auf, mit der sie die Poker Hand zusammenstellen möchten. Der Dealer bestimmt nun, welches das beste Poker Blatt ist, und damit den Spieler, der den Pot gewonnen hat. Falls es zu einem Unentschieden kommt, bei denen zwei Spieler ein gleichwertiges Poker Blatt haben, wird der Pot unter diesen beiden Spielern zu gleichen Teilen aufgeteilt. Aber, in dieser Runde muss nicht zwangsläufig das beste Poker Blatt gewinnen.

Spielende – Taktik kann auch gewinnen

Im Pre-Flop, Flop, Turn, River kann das Spiel schon von einem Spieler zu einem Ende gebracht werden, sprich gewonnen werden. Das ist der Fall, wenn alle anderen Mitspieler aus dem Spielgeschehen ausgestiegen sind. Der Gewinner gewinnt dann den bis zum dem Punkt zusammengekommenen Pot.

Beim einem Raise, also beim Bieten, ist es möglich, dass Spieler „All-in“ gehen. Das heißt, sie setzen alles, was sie noch an Spielchips haben. Falls die anderen Spieler diese Summe mitgehen können und ansonsten keine anderen Spielaktionen mehr möglich sind, werden die verdeckten Karten aller verbleibenden Spieler aufgedeckt und dann die restlichen Gemeinschaftskarten aus den noch ausstehenden Spielrunden in die Mitte des Spieltisches ausgeteilt. Die beste Poker Hand gewinnt.

Beim Omaha Hi gewinnt derjenige den Pot, der im letzten Spielabschnitt, dem Showdown, die beste Poker Hand hat.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

11 + 8 =

Casino Tipps

Sie haben Fragen, Wünsche oder Anregungen? Dann schreiben Sie uns und wir melden uns so schnell wie möglich zurück.